Am I really that different?

This week I met a special Kenyan lady. No, not Lupita Nyong’o! Another special Kenyan lady. Haha! This lady works with people with disabilities as well as troubled teens. She was truly amazing, down to earth and so smart. We had truly inspiring UWC level discussions about various issues. One thing we talked about was racism in the UK. I had never really thought about racism I might face when I’m at Hong Kong until that day. I’ve never thought of my skin colour as a disadvantage to me but as a way to make me more unique than I already am. But all in all, she inspired me to never let it get me down and use it as a fuel to strive further. Be greater. Just be me.

Tips for the day:

  • When someone calls me a “Nigga”, it doesn’t bother me instead I feel sorry for them because their words don’t change me. They only make me stronger.
  • I love my skin colour. When caucasian people are out looking for the ‘perfect tan’ I already have one…
  • When I look at me and I look back at you, all I see is that we both have one brain, one heart, two arms, two legs and we live in one world.

WE ARE NOT THAT DIFFERENT JUST UNIQUE IN OUR OWN WAY!

If you’re from Africa questions:

  • Do you ride giraffes to school?
  • Do you use elephant trunks to shower?
  • (When in another country) How did you get here? Did you swim?

I know this post is a little serious. But don’t worry I’ll try lighten it up as much as possible.

Lots of love from The Kenyan HKer.

P.S. Did you know it costs approximately US$100 to sit in the same restaurant as Lupita?

8 Comments Add yours

  1. adelkoko says:

    Great job Trisha. Wish you all the best there and keep on writing we reading. TK will miss you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!!! I’ll miss TK too! As well as all you guys too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thehaybale says:

    Great post! HK has its own problems like the rest of the world and while racism does exist there, I really hope it will not affect you while you are there. We’re good people, promise- you just have to ignore the minority that are ignorant and unkind :/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I fully agree. It’s up to me. Haha! I’ll take your word. No expectations though but I’m definitely optimistic.

      Like

    2. Btw Thank you for following my blog! Means a lot! Good luck at RCN! Looking forward to your next post even if they were written on a plane! 😊

      Like

  3. When I read your first sentence I legit started freaking out because I thought you would have met Lupita but then you said you didn’t and I laughed at my predictability 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Meher! Haha!!! I knew someone would fall into my trap!!! Haha!! Lol! It’s only because she’s now a Kenyan icon and all people can talk about is her.Pssstt I love her too!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah I LOVE HER! She is one of my idols tbh!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment